Transfiguration Sunday and Sting’s Prayer

And he was transfigured before them,
and his clothes became dazzling white,
such as no fuller on earth could bleach them.” Mark 9:2-3

The summer heat is on. The daytime temperature feels desert-like from this part of the world. It feels like the searing heat of Good Friday is knocking at our doorsteps, reminding us that somewhere, a fire is burning, more often a wild one. It’s easy to get thirsty these days. As the Man approaches His suffering and death, a mountain respite happened. It was drinking in the midst of the boiling political heat especially in Metro Jerusalem. Soon, he will immersed Himself in the chaos of the city. The call to learn from His desire for our deserts of hatred and violence and hunger for power and prestige is beckoning. Are you ready to join Him and Sting and the band of desert dreamers? Here’s Sting with his Desert Rose:

I dream of rain
I dream of gardens in the desert sand
I wake in vain
I dream of love as time runs through my hand

I dream of fire
Those dreams that tie two hearts that will never die
And near the flames
The shadows play in the shape of the mans desire

This desert rose
Whose shadow bears the secret promise
This desert flower
No sweet perfume that would torture you more than this

And now she turns
This way she moves in the logic of all my dreams
This fire burns
I realize that nothings as it seems

I dream of rain
I dream of gardens in the desert sand
I wake in vain
I dream of love as time runs through my hand

I dream of rain
I lift my gaze to empty skies above
I close my eyes
The rare perfume is the sweet intoxication of love

I dream of rain
I dream of gardens in the desert sand
I wake in vain
I dream of love as time runs through my hand

Sweet desert rose
Whose shadow bears the secret promise
This desert flower
No sweet perfume that would torture you more than this

Sweet desert rose
This memory of hidden hearts and souls
This desert flower
This rare perfume is the sweet intoxication of love

We are all desert roses…

13 thoughts on “Transfiguration Sunday and Sting’s Prayer

  1. kujaw nga pagkaUraki! just like that!, . . . “priestly tradition bay! buhi kaayo…ug ang exegesis nga konsepto haum giod kaayo, so nia may nakuhang idea, “The Heavenly mind of DFISH: So calm…so tranquil…”

  2. Pingback: The heavenly mind of Dfish: I dream of rain « EXODIANS

  3. Very nice reflection on today’s Gospel… I went to Mass today in the Benedictine monastery… And heard father Thomas’ thoughts on transfiguration…

  4. parang the song reminds me of the title of the book ‘when the well runs dry’ hehe ewan ko naalala ko lang🙂 was kind of dissapointed sa homily ng pari tonyt kasi sad to say basta lang meron xang maishare. eto pa nman ung isa sa mga gospels that i need enlightenment kasi di q maintindihan eh😦

  5. CWW: thanks for the compliment kapatid. i’m happy how the monastery and Fr. Thomas have been our blogging bridge now…let’s drink more from the well of contemplative life…

  6. diaryofmiel: wow, i’m glad you mentioned the Fr. Thomas Green’s book which played a large part in my spiritual formation. pero alam mo, ang pagkadismaya daw sa mga sermon ng mga pari ay umpisa o senyales ng isang curious journey into something deep. siguro, parang pag-iigib na rin ng tubig sa balon…

  7. Ginoong maloloy-on, Diosnong makagagahom, pastilan igsoon, ang kasing kasing nagpabiling taga looban- – pero ang lawas og kalag taga gawas na, kay di makaya sa simbahan ang pagka-gwatsinanggo. kaya nag-papari-parian- – nag-paObispoObispohan na lamang. hihihi

Leave a Reply

