Lenten Series Tips: Sacred Rain

Heaven heard “Sting’s desert prayer” for this corner of the universe. Raindrops fall gently since dawn on these dry and dusty roads of the metropolis, trying to convince bikers like me to wear my coats. Along the road, fellow bikers seem to be romping on the refreshing wet of rain, inattentive to its slow, soaking sprinkle. As early as my grade school science days, I learnt that atoms move closer to each other under a cold environ, and the closer they get to each other, the slower the motion. On a rainy day like this, there emerges the invitation to slow down, to take a gentle look at the dissipated energy of atoms that could run wild and decentered during a summerlike, dry, humid days.
Rains are often like tiny church bells: they summon me into a more playful, relaxed gathering of my focus. Amidst all my strewn energy, focus to me is returning over and over, often with a refreshed look at the Man-God. The rest is our prayer (with my wife and son) to get lost in that Center, to get soaked in His rainlike gentleness. He who remained gentle even in the dusty and dirty roads to Jerusalem, who had never lost focus even on a grueling heat of a once grisly Good Friday. While I often live according to what science tells me about atoms, He on the other hand had triumphantly tamed its wildness, over our natural tendency to dissipate on a non-rainy day. Desert Rain He is; Desert Rose He is in our wild ugliness. His name is JESUS.

Give Me Jesus

In the morning, when I rise
In the morning, when I rise
In the morning, when I rise, give me Jesus

Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus,
You can have all this world,
But give me Jesus

When I am alone
When I am alone
When I am alone, give me Jesus

Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus,
You can have all this world,
But give me Jesus

When I come to die
When I come to die
When I come to die, give me Jesus

Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus,
You can have all this world,
You can have all this world,
You can have all this world,
But give me Jesus

15 thoughts on “Lenten Series Tips: Sacred Rain

  1. Kapatid, salamat sa email… At last, I was able to respond…🙂

    Ganda ng reflection mo sa ulan… Ako rin, gustong gusto kong manood ng ulan… Indeed rain has its way of slowing down our world…

    When I was a kid, our house has a portion roofed with nipa… When it rains, I would love to stare at the falling globules of water at the ends of the folded nipa leaf…🙂

    And taking on with science, the reason why globules are formed is because of the property of water that is called surface tension…

    The rain maybe invites us to cloister ourselves, like separate globules of water – to reflect.

    God bless you always kapatid…

  2. Wow. Gaganda naman po ng music na shine-share nyo. Grabeh. Napapaluha ako ngayon habang nakikinig nito.

    Ako gustung-gusto ko rin ang ulan. Ewan ko ba. Parang ang sarap kasi ng feeling na napapaliguan ang buong paligid lalo na ang mga halaman at small creatures. Wag lang sana babagyo.

    Ingat po sa pag-drive Mr. DFish ha?

  3. I liked the video and the song. It is such a nice reflective music every morning when we wake up and talk to our Lord and greet Him in each and every morning. The song is both soothing to the ears and to the soul. Thanks!

  4. CWW: I truly appreciate your response to mail. It was so brotherly of you to be praying for us and let me feel your deep concern for our circumstances. I guess i just have to reiterate my compliment for you before that spirituality and science easily synergize in you. I can’t wait how God is going to expand your boundaries for His Kingdom…

  5. Emilayskie: This is one touching compliment you wrote. Likewise, it is a very soothing music for me, especially the ending when the singer elongates the Word…Soothing as listening intently to raindrops…

  6. Bloggity: So you’ve been listening to this song before? I don’t know the original composer of this one but i discovered it back in 2004, sung by Fernando Ortega and it never go away from my memory. Yes, i agree – this is a very soothing song for every Christian believer.

  7. Hi everyone ako po si Darbs. Workaholik ang tawag sa akin dito sa mga kakilala at katrabaho sa Big Apol. Ako po ang isa sa mga regular na boses sa bahay ng exodians blog. Salamat po sa inyo.

  8. Bay darbs, maayo kay nakahapit gihapon ka bisan pa ug nagkapuliki ka na diha. Ipaila-ila na lang pud nang uban pang mga board ng Exodians. Ang Superior General, kinsa man?

  9. I visited this many times when I got sick bro kaso wala galutaw jud ako utok ay… I love the rain because it made me feel closer to Him… from heaven to earth He sends drops of water to bless us ^_^

  10. What a beautiful music darbs! I will practice and also sing this song here in my local church in Ipil. But sad to note that I am no longer with my old,big church which We all used to be members. Anyway, bisan di naku katoliko pero JESUS remains the center of my faith. God bless us all!

  11. Jong, thanks for dropping by. Yes, there’s only one Jesus of history and the Christ of faith, gabalik-balik nga pag-emphasize ni Fr. Arevalo nga kanunay na pud nimo madungog kang Bishop Tagle ug Fr. Huang…Ayo-ayo sa imong gamay nga simbahan. I was telling darbs in one of my comments: sa disyerto, pagamyanay, the emptier, the better because by then, there will be more rooms and space for God.

Leave a Reply

