My Grandparents’ Career

No families are the same, right? I wish mine is similar with those who are fond of memorabilias, having a sort of museum within an ancestral home, keeping ancient letters and land titles, church certificates or trophies, hair strands of my grandparents’ first hair cuts or their tortoise-thick eyeglasses. We don’t have, at least in my family; perhaps, my Nanay Poren has. Its great to have in my wishful opinion for some dappled reasons:

  • Part of having a strong sense of personal identity is having a strong sense of one’s past, warts and wholesome
  • Our biological families are our closest identifiable connection with the rest of humanity (read: you are not born from bamboo crack)
  • You know when and how much Zagoo you could only gobble in a day if diabetes runs in the family and your weight is becoming a burden
  • If a 6-year old kid starts blogging beyond control, you know who’s blameworthy (read: talent runs in the fmaily and so are habits)
  • What about this: parents’ last will and testament especially if they big landholders and imperial in their properties and savings? (read: personal interests run wildly in the family)

Sadly, neither savings nor sepias of Latin masses my grandparents attended were filed for posterity or wealth rolling except this – my grandparents career, and I have a couple of representational records to show. They are worth emulating in their excellence and dedication until their old age.

For my grandpa’s, you may click this image:

old man 1

For my grandma’s, you may click this image:

old woman

Forgiveness. They were good. I just miss them.

14 thoughts on “My Grandparents’ Career

    • Haha – thanks Snow, lolo ko si Sting toinks…I’m not there yet, looking forward to fulltime gardening and trimming the santan flowers haha…

  1. Hehehe… I like this line:
    “You know when and how much Zagoo you could only gobble in a day if diabetes runs in the family and your weight is becoming a burden.”

    But this one hit home run!

    “If a 6-year old kid starts blogging beyond control, you know who’s blameworthy (read: talent runs in the family and so are habits).”

    And I was really excited to click on the pictures… hehehe…

    Alright, pagbigyan… Hahaha!!!

    Good morning kapatid… (1:30AM na, I am having a bout with insomnia).

      • Haha! Rizal lulled me to sleep… I read Leon Ma. Guererro’s The First Filipino from around 2am… Nagising na lang ako kaninang 6am na bukas pa yung ilaw ko… hehehe… at siyempre maraming tuping pahina sa aklat kasi nahigaan ko…🙂

        • Oops – looks like a wake-up call to read Pinoy authors these days. Ang mamahal lang kasi ng mga local publications natin…Any online store for used books you know? If none, maybe it’s worth an idea siguro…

  2. kumusta na kaya si lolo? marami sya lupa pero hindi naman kami malaking pamilya para magkagulo sa kung ano man ang iiwan nya, plano ko nga na pasayahin sya sa mga dadaan pang panahon.

    buti na lang hindi diabetis ang ipapamana nya sa amin… hahahaha

    • Hahaha – thank God walang lifetime supply ng diabet si Alvin. Enjoy your time with your lolo. Ako – wala pang kamuwang-muwang ng ma-dedo sila…

Leave a Reply

