Thank you for 2009! Welcome 2010

2009. What a year, a wacky one for me in a more painful topsy-turvy emotional way. Around May, I was absent from work for more than a week, an emotional fallout from work-related stress. Never was there a year when i got sick this long. By the last quarter of this year, i picked myself up again and pretty much, my biking activities have helped my stamina and immune system. I skimmed my personal journal today: entries were tug-of-war of emotional meandering and a sense of a growing solitude. It is filled with quotes from Scriptures, vignettes of family escapades, and an in-depth look at Desert Spirituality. If i am to remember 2009 with a sense of gratitude, it is these 2 things: those little dark corners of my being exposed into the light, needing some growing up but resistant enough to get sick at times, and the rediscovery of Silence that solitary writer Maggie Ross had “gifted” me with.

Ironically, it was still a beautiful year. What’s coming ahead is still veiled before my knowledge. Time to bring on the faith again, one more year, one day at a time. Like author Henri Nouwen, i hope that Silence will continue to guard the fire within, keep it focused.

I hope yours is one read through the eyes of faith, telling you: it’s always a safe one, gentler than the previous, regardless of any circumstance because all time is under Him.

Happy New Year to you and to your loved ones!

quasi

8 thoughts on “Thank you for 2009! Welcome 2010

  1. HAPPY NEW YEAR to you seeeeer, sanay maging masagana ang papasok na bagong taon sayo sampu ng iyong pamilya(my sampu ba kayo sa pamilya?)
    health is wealth kaya ingat magkasakit(in a month nakaka 8x nakong nadodoktor dito sa lamig)

  2. 2009 was the best year for me… I do not need to have faith to believe 2010 will also be a good one for me because in God’s time, He does everything best for all of us! God bless us all!

  3. Hi DF,๐Ÿ™‚

    I like this piece. God has so much for you to do this year. In fact, you will be doing a lot of fishing. lols! I hope you have a big net ready for your huge catch of knowledge – faith – compassion – courage – writing – teaching – growth – and gorgeous rainbows inbetween all that.๐Ÿ™‚ Be the fisherman after God’s heart with what you are – with what you have – and with everything He sends your way. Sign every task with faith. I suspect God is smiling already.. as He always does with His beloved children.๐Ÿ™‚ A HAPPY AND BLESSED NEW YEAR TO YOU AND YOUR LOVED ONES!

    • Thank you Ellen for this very encouraging message. I smiled while reading it while being assured Someone must be smiling, too.I imagine abundance this year, or more appropriately, a net full of catch. A blessed New Year to you also and to your whole family…Those smileys were quite consistent. Delightful!

Leave a Reply

