Brother, My Brother

I came from a retreat, on a mountaintop overlooking the whole Metro Manila. From my view, I could see hills not too far and they smell danger. Even death. It’s the same sense I had when I went home during the wake of my father last year – a mountain dotted with boulders and my brother’s house was nestled below it. I was pensive with what I sensed. Just a few days ago – what I sensed happened: a death-dealing landslide where my brother lived; boulders rolling down the river; the furious sound equal to 3 helicopters hovering according to my brother. Around 5PM, streams of mudflow began creeping down. My brother was still watching TV, even hearing our late father’s voice warning him to leave the place. 20 minutes after, my brother found himself swimming in a neck-deep mudflow. He was in the middle of the chaos of the deluge, in a whirlpool he said. Then the electric post tumbled, went flaming. He was electrically shocked but he did not mind it because he was so focused of sticking his head out of the mud, his one hand holding his cellphone (I can’t almost believe this). All the while, the rushing mud made loud noises every time it hit the house.I asked if he ever called God or our father. He didn’t because he thought he was seconds away from death. He had no control of the current; he had to flow with it until he was dumped into a neighbor’s house safely. Listening to him convinced me a big miracle just happened. All in all, 7 houses were buried or crushed, including that of my unemployed brother who lost a father and a father-in-law the last 4 months. My brother who forego his employment abroad months ago to take care of our then ailing father. Soon, he will be visiting my father’s grave and will likely thank for the voice behind the danger.

The following photos are courtesy of Fr. George Alfonso, MSC.

My brother Lazaro in his reflective mood after the miracle…

Residents taking refuge in the chapel…

My brother’s concrete house half-buried…

Thank you God for this big miracle before our eyes…

3 thoughts on “Brother, My Brother

  1. That was a frightening experience kapatid… It indeed was a miracle that your brother survived…

    The natural calamities that are happening are really deviant… Just like the LPA formed in Southern Mindanao, the rains expected in March…

    Nature’s rhythm has been altered…

    • Yes, Kapatid, we are living through very strange weather patterns. The human body and mind have to adjust in many small ways. The poor seems more vulnerable to natural calamities…

Leave a Reply

