Gibran and his 7 self-reprimands

Seven Reprimands

by Gibran

I reprimanded my soul seven times!

The first time: when I attempted to exalt myself by exploiting the weak.

The second time: when I feigned a limp before those were crippled.

The third time: when given a choice, I elected the easy rather than the difficult.

The fourth time: when I made a mistake, I consoled myself with the mistakes of others.

The fifth time: when I was docile because of fear and then claimed to be strong in patience.

The sixth time: when I held my garments upraised to avoid the mud of Life.

The seventh time: when I stood in hymnal to God and considered the singing a virtue.


The Best of Kahlil Gibran. Book Palace: New Delhi, p.71. Gibran wrote in two languages: Arabic for Lebanon, Syria and the Arabic world; English for the West. Gibran’s mother was the daughter of a Maronite priest. The Maronite Church uses Syriac, or Aramaic, in its liturgy, the same language spoken by Christ. While his feet “were stumbling on the stones of Nazareth, he decided to write his book Jesus the Son of Man.” On the Church becoming feudal during his time and bishops and priests used their position to advance and enrich friends and relatives, he wrote 2 famous stories: “Kahlil the Heretic” (a novice tries to convince the monks to distribute all their possessions and to go preach among the poor)  and “John the Madman.”

“Life is not only merriment; Life is desire and determination.” K. Gibran

The fierce landscape, the “cedars of God,” the mountains of Lebanon that Gibran grew up with, the Wadi Qadisha that has a “mighty force that compels the mind to dwell upon the words we have for eternity.”


4 thoughts on “Gibran and his 7 self-reprimands

  1. every time i read your entries, i had to reread them a couple of times before i have the idea of what to comment… i think my shallowness can’t dig deeply into your thoughts immediately igsoon… pareho ra mo ni toto mel uyog jud akong utok basta magbasa sa inyong mga entries hehehe God bless! I’ll comment again later pag nasabtan na nako tanan hehehe

  2. I reread this entry. Surprising how simple and short phrases or statements (from the reprimands) can relate to our personal daily experiences. What’s more surprising is, these actions seem to me more of normal and natural maybe because I am exposed to people doing the same that they become acceptable even to Christians. I think it would need very deep reflections on the faith we profess before we can be aware of these as some things that do really need to be reprimanded.

    Been lost for a long long time bro, and I need more reprimands than these written here…

  3. the thoughts expressed by KAHLIL are PRASADIK ( a gift by the grace of God ). In the stages of perception listening ( SUNIYAI ) , contemplation (MANNIYAI) and realization In being are suggested by spiritual masters. the text is to be taken not in BAIKHARI ( outward dispersal) stage of language but at the PASHYANTI ( higher stage of vision ) .

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s